The Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC) has announce that 240 polling units that elections will not take place across 28 States for the Federation based on the 2023 general election.

The Chairman of the electoral body Muhmud Yakubu that release this informative for one meeting for political parties in Abuja, for the country capital has said that because it will affected polling units will not has registered voter.

“However, the 240 polling units that hasn’t registered across all the 28 States including FCT.

“Because they range from 1 polling units to 12 for each of the states including FCT, except Imo and Tatiana States that has 34 and 38 polling units respectively.”

He added that ” because no new registered that choose that polling units, no voters that show interest to do transfer during the continuous of the registration exercise, mainly because of the security reasons.”

Mr Mahmud Yakubu has said that the number of the polling units where the country will hold for the country on February 25th, 2023 and 11th March, 2023 present now is 176,606 instead of 176,847 that was before.

And also the INEC will distribute voter card to the new polling units for places that was close to where them sake for congestion, so that can’t stay for close place to cast their votes.

And also, all the new polling units that was assigned will receive SMS from the commission for information about the polling units.

“voter card can gives to their polling units location before election day by sending SMS or WhatsApp to dedicated phone number.” Said by Mr Mahmud Yakubu.

Polling units that elections will not take place

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the list of the 240 polling units across the states or country that voting will not hold for 25th February and 11th March, 2023 because they has no voter card.

The List of the affected polling units across 28 States including the FCT.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *